How can we help?


Pro-8: any way to force an update?

Comments

8 comments

  • Avatar
    Jarrod Smith

    We replied to your open ticket this morning, but for anyone else having the same issue, we do occasionally see this. It can normally be fixed by power cycling the phone or tablet you are using and the RainPro. After both have fully booted back up we can get the new firmware to go through. I hope this helps anyone having the same issues and if not please open a ticket so we can figure out what your unique situation is.

    J. Smith

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    drmm8

    It just started working without a power cycle, I thought you had to fix something on your side.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    drmm8 (Edited )

    After the update, "Beta Quality Updates" option was checked. I did not have it enabled before and I do not want it enabled. I hope support didn't just go enable it on my unit to force the update.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    drmm8

    Support confirmed they made the change to my device without asking for permission first and not even letting me know what they changed.

    This is not cool at all! :(

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Jarrod Smith

    Sir,

         You don't have beta updates on the machine. I changed the setting to trigger an update but I knew there was no beta version available. You were never in any danger of a beta version being updated. I did this because there was nothing to fix on our side and knew your machine was most likely stuck on the version. We would never log into a machine without you contacting us about a problem first. I will make sure to put in the notes for your ticket that you would rather we tell you what to do then make the correction for you. We just figured that you would like to have it working and it is easier to trouble shoot the unit from the interface then the back and forth through the ticket. I hope this explains the reasons for your machine to have the setting changed. I would have gone in today and switched it back once I verified it did update but I will leave that to you unless you ask us to. If you have any other questions just let us know and have a great week.

    Jarrod S.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    drmm8 (Edited )

    I'm sure a lot of other users would prefer to at least know that you made a change, you were silent about it and you were going to make the change to revert it back based on your explanation above also without letting me know.

    Your normal practice must be to ask for permission by default and not just make changes. Anything less and your company can be in legal trouble, e.g. see California Consumer Privacy Act.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Jarrod Smith

    If it had been my intention to leave the setting changed I would have informed you what that was. I made the change to see if I was correct about what might be causing the issue. When I logged in today and changed it back I would have added it to the ticket so you knew what I did. I can see why it was disconcerting to you and will keep that in mind when helping others. When dealing with unique issues such as yours I prefer to make sure I knew what the problem was before explaining what I did. I find it is better then explaining the troubleshooting process. If I had had you on the phone I would have explained that I thought it was a bad data point probably a time stamp. I have never had a person say something about it so I hadn't thought about it. As I said I can see why you were worried and I just wanted to let you know that we wouldn't have left a setting changed without explaining it and that you would have been informed today about what the resolution was. If this had been a known complication I would have given you instructions and offered to log in and fix it for you. I was troubleshooting and will in the future ask you before logging in to your machine to fix it. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    drmm8 (Edited )

    The question I asked in the support ticket was "how can I force a firmware update?" I did not ask you to look at the device or make any changes or update it or anything else to that effect.

    What is the point of the setting "Generate Guest/Support PIN"? Let me give you a hint: the point is that support uses it and does not access our devices without us being aware of it, even if read-only. Your system is broken because it allows you to look at our devices without enforcing the existence of the PIN. No security, no privacy. There's no 2 ways about this.

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.